Press Release

New Album "The Reckless One"
Released Friday 20th November 2020
Available to Pre-Order

Cover art by Dave Krovblit

new Single "Don't Have To Be"
Released FRiday 18th September 2020
Pre-Save Single

"Samantha Martin is a force of nature, one of those voices that grabs you by the throat while causing the hairs on the back of your neck to tingle."

- Kerry Doole, Exclaim!

With the worldwide pandemic wrecking utter havoc upon the careers of many musicians, Samantha Martin & Delta Sugar elected to use their time off the road to record, their latest tour-de-force, the astonishingly powerful, funky and deeply soulful The Reckless One.

Released by Gypsy Soul Records on 20th November 2020, Samantha’s highly anticipated new album “The Reckless One” is available to pre-order HERE. Released 18th September, the first single from the album “Don’t Have To Be” is available to pre-save HERE.

Photo Credit: © Paul Wright

The follow up to 2018’s Juno-nominated “Run To Me,” “The Reckless One” represents another massive step forward for Samantha Martin as a songwriter, singer, arranger and band leader. Eleven of the album’s twelve songs were either co-written or solely composed by the multi-faceted artist.

Samantha’s music embodies roots, blues, blues rock, soul, R&B, including a dash of Motown – performed by an ensemble of amazing musicians at the top of their game.

Photo Credit: © Paul Wright

If you’re a fan of St. Paul & The Broken Bones, Teskey Brothers, Nathaniel Rateliff, Sharon Jones and the Dapkings, Rolling Stones, Beth Hart, Aretha Franklin, Etta James, Janis Joplin, you’ll be hooked on Samantha Martin & Delta Sugar.

The one non-original, a funk infused cover of Bob Dylan’s “Meet Me in the Morning,” fuses Dylan’s lyric in a cataclysmic clash with the sensibilities of the Meters and the hurricane force of Howlin’ Wolf and Tina Turner at their rawest. It simply must be heard to be believed.

Photo Credit: © Jen Squires

Produced by Darcy Yates and Renan Yildizdogan, “The Reckless One” demonstrably builds on the strengths of Samantha Martin & Delta Sugar‘s last album. Martin’s lyrics, set to a panoply of intoxicating, ear worm melodies, tend to focus on the vicissitudes of love: desire, disappointment and, when everything works out, emotional and sexual satisfaction.

The album’s twelve tracks cover a lot of ground, including 12/8 gospel infused soul ballads such as “I’ve Got a Feeling” and “Better to Have Never,” funk inflected tracks like “Love is All Around,”  stomping four-on-the-floor dance numbers epitomized by “Don’t Have To Be” and the Wall of Sound influenced “Sacrifice.”

Photo Credit: © Mike Scott

Over the course of the album the discerning listener will detect a panoply of influences ranging from Mavis Staples, Sharon Jones and Otis Redding to Booker T. and the MG’s and the Memphis Horns. One track, “All That I Am,” is even slightly reminiscent of early 70s Emotions.

As illustrated on the front cover artwork for the new album, love is as delicate as a Faberge egg and can be as volatile as a hand grenade, with one fell swoop - it can blow up so magnificently, that once the dust settles, it can leave you looking at the fragments of that love wondering what went wrong. That description also works when describing Samantha.

Photo Credit: © Paul Wright

"You might not know it yet, but Samantha Martin is a rock star. She'll tear your heart out one note at a time."

- Serena Ryder

"America gave us Brittany Howard of Alabama Shakes, England brought us Yolanda Qartey and Phantom Limb, while Toronto gives us a new rising star, Samantha Martin."

- Jan Jansen, Real Roots Café NL

"Interesting that she's coming up at the same time as Etta James has sadly passed. Samantha Martin has a voice that stops people in their tracks. Those are rare."

- Luke Doucet, Whitehorse

Photo Credit: © Renan


1. Love Is All Around - 3:28 (S. Martin, J. Chisholm)
2. Don’t Have to Be - 2:57 (S. Martin, A. Beer, Colacino, A. Warner)
3. Meet Me in the Morning - 3:34 (Bob Dylan)
4. Loving You Is Easy - 4:25 (S. Martin)
5. One Heartbreak - 3:36 (S. Martin, R. Yildizdogan)
6. I’ve Got a Feeling - 5:16 (S. Martin, C. Chaffey)
7. Sacrifice - 2:59 (S. Martin, J. Chisholm)
8. So I Always Know - 3:54 (S. Martin, P. Reddick)
9. Pass Me By - 3:20 (S. Martin, C. Chaffey)
10. Better to Have Never - 4:01 (S. Martin)
11. All That I Am - 2:56 (S. Martin, C. Chaffey)
12. Who Do You - 3:07 (S. Martin, C. Chaffey)

Gypsy Soul Records
Catalogue Numbers: GSR013, GSR013CD, GSR013LP

Worldwide Physical Distribution via Proper Music Group
Digital Distribution via FUGA/Fontana North

Photo Credit: © Paul Wright


· 2019 Juno Nominee - Blues Album of the Year
· 2018 CIMA Road Gold Award Recipient
· Thirteen-time Maple Blues Award Nominee
· 5 Time Female vocalist of the year nominee at Maple Blues Awards
· #1 on Roots Music Report Radio charts USA
· 2019 Cobalt Prize runner-up
· Semi-finalist at International Blues Challenge 2018 in Memphis
· Run To Me - #1 on Top 50 Canada Album Chart – Roots Music Report
· 12 weeks on Top10 National Folk/Roots/Blues Charts – earshot!
· Run To Me - #11 on Top Blues Album Chart – Roots Music Report
· Run To Me #1 on Stingray Blues Charts
· Run To Me - #1 UK Blues Radio - Independent Blues Broadcasters Association
· 2 European and UK tours in February-March 2021, June-July 2021
· Last two records combined over 10,000 in physical sales
· In consideration for the 2021 Grammys, Junos, Polaris Price

# # #

Produced by Renan Yildizdogan & Darcy Yates
Recorded at Home Studio Parkdale in Toronto, ON
Recording Engineer: Ross Hayes Citrullo
Assistant Engineers: Marcus Gilgan, Emily Gowan, Nate Jackman
Mixed by RYCH (Renan Yildizdogan & Ross Hayes Citrullo)
Piano overdubs at Taurus Recording, Thomas D’arcy
Hammond, Guitar overdubs at RHC Music in Toronto, ON
Mastered at Infrasonic Mastering in Nashville, TN
Mastering Engineer: Pete Lyman
Album Cover Art: Dave Krovblit's “Honey Lips - Paradise Grenade”
Album layout and design by Roberta Landreth

Photo Credit: © Mike Scott
Links & Downloads

Further Information

Peter Noble and Michaela Sauter at Noble PR
Peter Noble - +44 794 908 9762,
Michaela Sauter - +44 747 700 4969,